Surf Photographer

Copyright © Mike Coots

I got an email the other day from PopPhoto A.K.A. Popular Photography. I have been a long time subscriber to this magazine. For the money I think it has what I need to improve my photography, and insights where the industry is going in regards to Gear, Techniques and Style.

I don’t typically read the online articles, because I get the paper magazine and spend my lazy free time reading it from the beach.

However, in this email issue there is an article about Mike Coots. I don’t know much about Mike, but what I found out about Mike from the article is inspiring.

As you may or may not know, I have grown up in Southern California in a little beach town (now city) in South Orange County. I grew up on the beach and in the water. I have been a surfer most of my life, and an armature photographer since I was a teen. In the past year I have gone from taking pictures of surfers at local breaks from the shore, and have moved into the water.

Just the other day I was int the water at Lower Trestles taking photos of family members and some pro surfers that happened to be out in the water at the time. I was in the water for 2.5 hours, bobbing around down the line on the shoulders to catch the images I was looking for. Many times while I was slowly treading water to keep my position, I would think to myself, “I’m shark bait out here”.

Mike is a surfer and now a professional surf photographer. Before Mike became a pro photographer, he was out surfing with friends in Hawaii and was attacked by a shark. Mike survived the attack, but lost one leg and almost lost his other leg from the attack. In the article Mike speaks a little about that event, and how his path turned towards becoming a professional surf photographer.

Mike also talks a little about his technique and the gear he uses as a surf photographer. Here is the link to the article: I, Photographer: Surf Photographer Mike Coots

2 thoughts on “Surf Photographer

  1. Pingback: My Homepage

  2. Pingback: gateau au yaourt

Leave a Reply

