Spring Chicks

The Spring Chicks are here and arriving a day early. Every year in my wife’s third grade class they hatch chicken eggs for life science. This year my wife ha 22 eggs to hatch. Not all will hatch, but they have a unusually good yield of 75% hatchlings.

Every year they day they start to hatch I arrive with my travel studio equipment and set up a little studio. Over the years a I learned a few tricks.

  1. Take paper towels to clean up the poop.
  2. Use a seamless background (paper) so you can throw away fouled paper
  3. Take images within the first day of hatching. Chicks are easier to manage when the are a day old. Any older and they are hard to keep in the same spot.
  4. Don’t drop them off the table, they break.

Here is a slide show of some of the images I took in the past. Yes, I have a warped sense of humor.

http://www.flickr.com/apps/slideshow/show.swf?v=71649

